May 12th Blog Hop

I was tagged by Clair de Lune to answer the following:

1) What am I working on? At present I am trying to finish up the contemporary piece I worked on during Camp Nano – April 2014 — about a man born into wealth who only wants to race cars around tracks like the Indy 500. However, a multi car crash leaves him with multiple broken bones, concussion, and blind. Adjusting to life in the dark is difficult, and he only relents to getting a service dog in order to not have a another person at his side at all times. Life slowly gets back to normal except for women. He finds it difficult to reconcile the idea any female would want a man who cannot see, doubly doubting his ability to perform and satisfy her, never mind the one female who managed to break through his resistance.

2) How does my work differ from other works in same genre? I was taught there are only 8 -10 major plots, and the aim of a writer is to take one and make it their own. Unlike the heroine in romance books years ago, who depended on the hero for nearly everything, my heroine is as strong as the hero (not a very popular scenario when I was writing at a younger age). While my contemporary stories are erotic, they are more sensual in nature [spanking and/or light bondage] than hot & heavy BDSM-like. I also write historical romance which has been compared to GWTW, though I never envisioned my hero akin to Clark Gable as some have commented. I think I always envisioned him more like a swashbuckling Errol Flynn interminably stuck on land.

3) Why do I write what I write? I grew up on historical romances more commonly known as “bodice rippers”, my favorites at the time “The Wolf & The Dove” and “The Flame & The Flower” by Kathleen Woodiwiss. A romantic at heart, there is nothing like a good love story with a healthy dose of conflict and telling it in my own unique way.

4) How does my writing process work? Wow, that’s a hard one to answer, as I don’t have a “writing process” per se. Stories tend to slowly evolve from a snippet of history, a character idea that pops to mind, or something that catches my interest for a possible setting or situation. I am a lover of history and doing research, and have to really push myself to work-up a very bare-bones outline, as the characters generally direct the story. On occasion the main source of conflict is what propels it.

Tagging forward,

K.R.Brown

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKRBrown?ref=hl

https://twitter.com/KristyRBrown

http://krbrownauthor.wordpress.com/

Caitlyn O’Leary

Caitlynolearyauthor.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/Caitlyn.Oleary.35

Caitlynoleary.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

